Blogs News


Show All Tags

Ben Allen wins £10k Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012

Thu, 15 November 2012

At an incredible award final in central London last night (14th November), young entrepreneur Ben Allen was announced Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2012.
At the 30th anniversary Shell LiveWIRE awards final in central London last night (Wednesday 14th November), the truly inspirational Ben Allen was announced as the 'Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2012'.

The 27yr old from Scarborough won a £10,000 cash prize and trophy for the inspirational work he has been doing with his business, Oomph Wellness Limited, which is on a mission to rejuvenate and revolutionise the care sector for elderly and disabled people throughout the UK.
In an emotional speech, Ben was visibly overjoyed at winning the award and after thanking the judges and his fellow finalists, dedicated the award to his girlfriend who has supported him throughout his start-up journey and was in the audience watching.
The 8 Finalists for the Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012
Back row (l-r) Charlie Francis, Jonathan May, Jide Johnson-Babatunde, Dana Elemara
and Jules Quinn. Front row (l-r) Sam Zawadski, Graham van't Hoff (Chairman, Shell UK), Ben Allen, Penny Power (Head Judge) and Nithin Thomas.
In addition to Ben's win, fellow finalist Nithin Thomas (SQR Systems) was presented with a special new 'Shell LiveWIRE Innovation Award' for the cutting edge technology he has developed for encrypting and compressing video files to enable secure distribution across low bandwidth mobile signals.
Both winners had previously won a £1,000 Shell LiveWIRE Grand Ideas Award before making it through to the Final 8 which included fellow winners Charlie Francis (Lick Me I'm Delicious), Dana Elemara (Arganic), Jide Johnson-Babatunde (Aniboxx), Jonathan May (Sponsorcraft), Jules Quinn (The *TeaShed) and Sam Zawadzki (
The 8 amazing young entrepreneurs had spent the previous day being interviewed by and presenting to an esteemed panel of judges comprising Penny Power, Guy Rigby, Saira Khan, Tom Cheshire, Laura Wyatt-Smith, Caroline Murray, Michael Korn and Colin Abraham.
More details and photos will follow shortly but in the meantime you can read all the fantastic comments and feedback from people who were at the award ceremony on Twitter via the #SLW30 hashtag.

Related Posts