Blogs News


Show All Tags

Final 8 revealed for the £10,000 Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012

Wed, 24 October 2012

Meet the 8 Finalists for the Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012.
Meet the 8 Finalists for the Shell LiveWIRE Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012.
One of the exciting young entrepreneurs listed below will walk away with the title, trophy and £10,000 for their business at our award ceremony on 14th November. Who do you think it will be?
Ben Allen (Oomph! Wellness Limited)
Oomph! offers falls-reduction exercise therapy sessions, dance therapy sessions and art therapy sessions. These sessions are designed specifically for older adults living within the care sector. The therapies help improve mobility and generally lift the spirits of those taking part by creating a ‘party atmosphere’, with classes such as ‘chaerobics’ or ‘cheerobics’. Oomph! Wellness Limited encourages as many people to take part as possible and works with 10,000 – 15,000 people monthly in over 400 locations.
Charlie Francis (Lick Me I’m Delicious)
Lick Me I'm Delicious sells liquid nitrogen ice cream creations at corporate events, weddings and parties.  The business has created the UK's first portable nitro ice cream parlour which uses a unique liquid nitrogen injection system to make two custom ice cream flavours for up to 500 people.  The whole system flat packs and can be assembled in under an hour at the event venue. All creations are made using fresh ingredients and the ice cream is made right in front of your eyes.
Dana Elemara (Arganic)
Arganic supplies the finest quality traceable organic argan oil to the cosmetic and culinary industries. Sourced from the UNESCO-protected argan tree exclusive to Morocco, there is an increasing demand for it thanks to its anti-aging and restorative properties. Culinary argan oil is also an exciting new ingredient to hit the UK food scene and Arganic has secured an exclusive partnership with one of the most reputable producers of argan, helping support Berber women.
Jide Johnson-Babatunde (Aniboxx)
Aniboxx is an innovative video production studio focusing on short animated explainer videos that help organisations clearly communicate their messages to their target audiences in a visually engaging way. The business has worked with companies including Google, TOMS and Ariadne Capital, as well as supporting a number of start-ups. Every project aims to deliver the highest standard of animated messages through moving images, kinetic typography and close attention to semiotics.
Jonathan May (Hubbub)
Hubbub is a crowdfunding website for students to showcase exciting projects to friends, family, and alumni and tap into these networks to achieve their funding target. Students post and promote their projects and offer rewards in return for many small donations. Utilising the power and increased connectivity of social networking, Sponsorcraft brings alumni sponsorship into the 21st century.
Jules Quinn (The *TeaShed)
The *TeaShed is a design-led tea company, born and brewed in Newcastle. They source quality whole leaf tea in silky pyramid teabags and then pack 20 of these into paper cups – so rather than a box, which you would just throw away, you have a cup to use and then recycle. The *TeaShed was launched one year ago and now sells across the UK in such places as John Lewis, Fenwick, Heals and the V&A.
Nithin Thomas (SQR Systems)
SQR Systems develops technology to securely distribute video across networks with limited bandwidth. The software enables users to reduce their bandwidth requirements while protecting sensitive data from illicit access. The company was founded by Nithin Thomas and Rockman Law, who met during their engineering degrees at the University of Bristol. They believe passionately in the technology and the impact it could make in securing the most critical data for national security and public safety.
Sam Zawadzki ( is the online alternative to a letting agency that puts landlords in control of their property. The business helps landlords advertise online and find tenants fast, gives them legislation updates, and provides a simple way of storing tenant information and tracking rent payments. Since its launch, the business has developed a loyal user base and is now looking to expand the team and market the website.
What happens next?
The 8 Finalists above will now be invited to a judging day at Shell Centre on 13th November where they will be interviewed by our esteemed panel of expert judges. The overall winner will then be announced at our VIP award ceremony the following evening.
Who do you think it will be? Join the discussion on our forum and share your thoughts on Twitter using the hashtag #SLW30.
Thank you!
Commiserations to the other 32 fantastic entrepreneurs who made it onto our 'Shell LiveWIRE Hot 40' but didn't quite make it through to the Final 8.
These are:
Andrew Finlayson (MedicineAfrica), Amy Hale (ZeroCarbon Canapé Catering), Andrew Jervis (PieBoy Clothing), Caroline Warwick-Evans (The Cornish Seaweed Company), Charlotte Nicol (Most Curious Tours), Dan Taylor (The Giving Card), Darren Lester (theCADcube), David Lochhead (FINLAY & CO.), Eleanor Watson (Poikos), Felix Mitchell (Instant Impact Interns), Gerry Newton (Cyclr), Guido Molinari (ICE Italy), Hayley Revell (Northern League Football Premiership Passion), Iain Niblock (Logan Cyclewear), James Sutton (Bloomtrigger), Jason Mitchell (The Connected Set), Jo Halstead (Velos & Vagabonds), John Macleod (LUX Creations Ltd), Jon Cheek (UniTasterDays Ltd), Katie Lee (Just Crackers), Lauren Howden (The Counted Sheep), Leena Mistry (New Leaf Family Servies), Lucy Nuttall (Frontline Forensics), Philip Russell (Plan My Gap Year), Renata Pilikinaite (Eventhread), Richard Hewitt (SpinCycle Solutions Ltd), Ry Morgan (PleaseCycle), Sam Harris (Pedal Power Transport Limited), Sarah Watson (Freggies), Tiffany Dhani (Ramp), Tinaye Munonyara (StudyKitPro) and Tom Anderson-Dixon (SquashStix).
The Shell LiveWIRE team would also like to give thanks to each of the independent judges who took time out of their busy schedules to narrow the Hot 40 shortlist down to the Final 8 above.
In first name alphabetical order these are:
Alice Barnard (Peter Jones Foundation)
Amarjit Singh (Dutton Gregory LLP)
Andrew Holly (Exclusive Ballooning)
Anne Tipple (British Chambers of Commerce)
Ernestina Hall (Virgin Media Pioneers)
James Eder (The Bean Group)
Jenny Moore (University of Exeter)
Joanna Berry (Newcastle University Business School)
Katy Duke (Royal Agricultural College)
Kelly Smith (Huddersfield University)
Matt Draycott (University of East Anglia)
Nat Hardwick (SFEDI)
Nick Sturge (SETsquared Bristol University)
Paul McEldon (Sunderland BIC)
Peter Harman (UKBI)
Philip Adlam (Compass Group)
Sally Jones (Leeds Business School)
Sandara Kelso-Robb (LloydsTSB Foundation NI / Former winner)
Sam Michel (Chinwag)
Shalini Khemka (London Entrepreneurial Exchange)
Simon Green (Newcastle Science City)
Sue Poole (Gower College Swansea)
Tina Boden (Enterprise Rockers)
Zubin Sethna (University of Westminster)

Related Posts