This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Starting Out
just an idea

Hi. I am due to start college this autumn, and have been turned down at every opportunity for a job becuase i am a prospective student, and not available 'full time'. So i have had an idea to make a little extra money in the meantime by offering a typing service - CV's, essays, that sort of thing.

What do you think? My 2 biggest worries are how to price it, and whether to register as self-employed or not, since it will most likely only add up to a couple of hours each week - if that. I have been told before that my typing speed (35-40 wpm on a good day) is fast, near secretrial, and i have plenty of experience on Word, Works, etc, etc.

After college i am looking to go into book-keeping/accounts self-employed, and think this might be a good chance to get to grips with the very basics of working from home.

Any extra advice would be very much appreciated.
Connector
I am amazed when I hear and see adverts for "a hard working recent graduate with a 2:1 or above wanted as an administrator for busy packing factory - 14K per year"

No reason for needing a graduate and with such low wages they will be lucky to get anyone at all but it is a funny jobs market.

Even fast food restaurants seem to want people to work for the rest of their life on minimum wage.

You are probably meant to register as self employed but I doubt people in your situation do.

As for pricing you need to see what others are offering and what the market will accept.

Vending Solutions from Vendesent.co.uk
Maven
Re: just an idea

Quote:
Originally posted by littlespider