This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Go Back   Shell LiveWIRE Discussion Forums > Shell LiveWIRE

Starting Out
Is it a sin to want a business start up fund from the business link!

I went over to my business link today to find out about the london business start up fund which i have been told that i more than qualify for. Only to be told by a very rude fund manager that my business plans were aimed a bit too high. He then went on to tell me that i was not disadvantaged because i have an MBA and would be best adviced to get back to my job and didn't look as if i needed the money because they were aimed for people that are disadvantaged. Further more i was told that my business plan should only be four pages long which is news to me as main stream banks have told me that it should be longer.

I really couldn't believe how someone in such a sensitive position could be so rude. My anger over this matter is that if i needed a loan to startup a hairdressing salon or plumbing service there would be a lot of help available to me but with setting up a management consultancy and having an MBA i am aiming a bit too high and there is no help available to me. The injustice of this is really not right. I am going to register a complaint against the fund manager because he has no right to be so negative towards my business idea or anybody's for that matter.

What i would like to find out is that are there anymoreyoung people out there that have experinced this injustice in your quest to get a business loan from the business link.
Entrepreneur
Hello there,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. The business link have no right to make such a comment without basis. They should have explained what they didn't like about your plan and given helpful suggestions.