This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Entrepreneur
A PC Problem

I've got a problem on my computer and was just wondering if the IT people could help.

When I log onto the internet, it is connected i.e. the 2 little computers in the bottom right appear. But it can't access any sites, because a message saying 'Cannot Allocate Socket' (without the 's). How do I sort this out? Cheers
Connector
Try pcadvisor.co.uk

Sorry that I cannot answer your problem. However I would recommend you go to www.pcadvisor.co.uk and register with them. You can then post a thread in their helproom forum. You should get a lot of replies from people in the know.

Best of luck,

Shamrocker
Connector
tech support?

Hi, I used to work in IT at Lifetime Careers but I've never come accross that sort of problem before, try technical support if not www.pcadvisor.com, although you may get charged a ridiculous amount of £ per minute.

Kris
Entrepreneur
Hi,

I am a Network Manager and have been in IT support for 3 years. I have never come accross this problem before.

First of all, has the problem resolved itself out now. (I came across a similar problem - with out the error message- and it was just a glitch with the ISP.)

2nd. How long have you had it for?

3rd. Does it allow you to connect to your POP3 server (email)

4th. What is your operating System?

please reply here or email me at: michael@computing-tips.net

Dont forget if you have any IT/Computer Problems post them on the re-launched User-Support.net Support forums (http://www.user-support.net/)

Michael
Entrepreneur
A PC Problem

Cheers folks!
Maven
Hey HSS,

Try logging on as the Administrator then connect to the Internet again. This is likely to solve your problem. If you're interested in the technical side, here's a simplified explanation why: