This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Go Back   Shell LiveWIRE Discussion Forums > Shell LiveWIRE

New business venture BUT im an engineer not a businessman!!

Hey all,

I am new to this website so I am seeking some advice please

I came accross this website via my Universities' enterprise hub. In short I have had an idea relating to a social networking site aiming at the, exponentially growing, academia market. The problem I have is that I am an engineer and the ideas I have come up with haven't yet been translated into solid business plans.

Anyway long story short a senior member of my Universities' business school had a look over my project and said it is definately worth persuing. The setback I have is that after a brief business plan he outlined a startup cost of £25,000. He personally offered a sum of £5000 to be involved in the project because he was so excited about the idea which was encouraging. The startup cost would be to cover costs of a website but mainly mass database programming that makes the website unique.

As it stands I am now persuing the investment required but from my point of view I would prefer the investment to come from a business or person who has experience within this area of the market. I do not know who to talk to or where to start for this. Ideally I would find some webdesigners/programmers that would like to be part of the project and do the work in return for a business partner's position rather than seeking the startup costs in full. The question is where do I begin my search??

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers
Guru