This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Entrepreneur
Business Insurance

Hi all,

first of all i must say this is a briliant forum!

im in the process of setting up my first business, registration going through etc. However i have the following query if anyone can help:

- Business insurance - who with and how?
y business involves emplyoying staff who will visit client sites. I know i need insurance for this but can anyone reccomend which broker or insurance company to go with?

Thanks
Guru
hi there, in my normal day job i work in insurance, i suggest you contact companies like Aon, Heath Lambert or willis.

You should be able to get a package insurance including your liability policies. any advise needed let me know.
Entrepreneur
thanks for the heads up MYOBar. I will check those compaies out. But there are loads of insurance companies, i gues it just a matter of contacting a fe for the best deal

Cheers

Kaizer7
Connector
I use Axa for a standard shop retail package. I get it via Hensure Insurance - who should be able discuss your individual situation with you and then recommend the appropriate cover. You should get them if you do a google search.
Connector
Do you mind me asking how much do you pay monthly for your shop? I ask as I am looking to open my own fishing tackle shop in manchester. And I have no idea how much I would be looking to pay for basic insurance policy.
Connector
I pay roughly £45 a month - works out at around £525 a year. That covers £10k of stock, plus a load of other things - buildings, fixtures and fittings , loss of business, public and employers liability, etc.
Connector
Oh, well, that's not so bad. What kind of shop do you have? I think I have found my shop - not 100% perfect but it's the best I will find for the money. It will allow me enough room to test the water and see what happens from there.