This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

mon478 mon478 is offline
Maven
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 65
Anyone know anything about PHP scripts?

HI, i'm trying to upload an sql page to myphpadmin and it says something is wrong with my syntax

CREATE TABLE `places` (
`code` varchar(7) NOT NULL,
`lat` varchar(7) NOT NULL,
`lon` varchar(7) NOT NULL,
`place` varchar(40) NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (`code`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1;


i don't know anything about php so am a bit stuck. it is a free post code script and i just want to see how i can implement it into my site.
Reply With Quote
itsolutions itsolutions is offline
Entrepreneur
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 46
Are you running it in a SQL box, or importing the file?

If you drop me an email, I'll have a look for you


Andrew

andrew @ itsolutionsuk.net
__________________
CruxSoftware
Reply With Quote
webprojectuk webprojectuk is offline
Connector
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 254
if you still stuck please email me and I will do my best to help. info @ webprojectuk.com
__________________
Digital Agency in Manchester
http://www.webprojectuk.com
Reply With Quote
unknown unknown is offline
Connector
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
mon478, I wrote a UK postcode validation script awhile ago, if you want it I will give you it for free, and it works like a dream

it will also workout the distance (in miles) from your specified postcode.

email me: bizop @ talktalk.net
__________________
"To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe" - Anatole France
Reply With Quote
mon478 mon478 is offline
Maven
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 65
hi,
thanks for the replies

i'm still having bit of trouble. have tried pasting the script but still get the same message.

do i need to do anything else like add tables first?


unknown, the postcode u script you have.. is it easily customisable?

as i said, i don't know diddly about php, all i want to basically do is to enter a post code and it bring up 3 closest branches then people could click on a link to take them to a corresponding page.

if it can do that (and run flawlessly! in myphpadmin) then i'll be happy to try it out
Reply With Quote
unknown unknown is offline
Connector
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
mon478, the postcode script works like this:

1) you enter a postcode

2) The UK postcode is validated according to the rules
of the UK system.

3) If everything is OK, database is searched for the closest postcode to the one you entered.

although I could easily change to 3 closest postcodes.

I'll zip up the scripts for you and you can see how it runs with a basic example.

send me your email I will send it to you.
__________________
"To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe" - Anatole France
Reply With Quote
mon478 mon478 is offline
Maven
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 65
thanks its monzbiz @ gmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Copyright Shell LiveWIRE 2005-2009