This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Entrepreneur
Stuck!!!

Hi all,

I have been a member of this forum for a while and come here often trying to pickup ideas and get my thoughts together as to what I want to do with my career. So don't be too harsh on me but do give me some honest advice!

I have a degree in IT ( doesn't mean too much now a days anyway) and IT was my passion (no I am not a geek) and since graduating I have been working for a fairly big firm.

However as some of you may recall from my previous posting, I am very frustrated with the IT market and there is no end to the current slump and my employer has stopped all pay rises etc etc so no more money! And I am just tired of working for someone else!!!!

I know I want to be my own boss but the fact of the matter is the only thinkg I know how to do at the moment is IT. I have been sales assitant before so I know how to sell....well I know how to talk up a product.....but I just cannot think of anything with IT that I can do which is not already available.....

Hardware shop (well to many out there), Software shops ( don't think there is the demand for it), Web Design ( too competitive) etc etc!

Do you see ....I feel completely stuck!!!

Any advice???

Many thanks for reading my rant!!
Maven
How about providing hardware and IT support to businesses? For X pounds a month, you could provide your clients with relevant hardware and IT support when they require it. In effect they rent the systems from you. You could also provide freelance IT support to other clients when required and charge per site visit.
How about database solutions? I know for a fact that there are many industries where businesses use bespoke databases rather than Access to do all of their order processing, invoicing, accounting etc. If you can program using c++ or whatever, you could be well away.