This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Guru
Need some advice...

I am on a placement year at the minute and have my finals to complete next year so I thought I cannot start my business until then. I know this is not ideal because already people are asking me for the products that I intend to sell and the launch date is 18 months away.

I was out and about yesterday and some people approached me and asked me where they could buy these products. I didn't say much, only told them where I got my boat which would be the competition (and it broke my heart :-( ).

As im still a student im not finnacially flush at the min, so my parents are urging me to start now and they will pay for a lot of the stuff (as an investment) . I have the website done and suppliers sorted out. They are advising me to start around June or July when the season is at its highest.

I won't need a premesis at the start until my degree is finished and then we will setup as a bricks and mortar store also. My father is lending me one of his sheds based at their house until we setup in a business unit.

When im back at uni I could still operate the business professionally as there are two of us.

Is there anything else I need to do before launching? We will be adjusting our business plan for the change.

Kind regards,
Mick
Connector
I am guessing if your parents are willing to lend you a decent amount of money then they are either stupid, love you very much, or have some business/investment savvy about them (my parents would never back me lol). Hard to give an answer but I am guessing your father has some business know how so I would use his brain as much as you can.