This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

hellerooo hellerooo is offline
Connector
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 223
BT, any alternatives?

Hiya

I am moving into a new office next week and have called BT to connect the existing line already in there. They have told me that because I don't know the telephone number that was previously used there, I will have to pay £100+ connection charge. Pus it will cost me £50 to move my 0845 number, then the standard line rental every quarter. I am gutted!

Does anyone know of a different telephone line supplier who will sort this or is BT the only company? Residential phone lines are so easy, everyone is fighting for your business!!

I don't want anything fancy, just telephone line and broadband.

Any ideas greatly appreciated!!!!

Helen
Reply With Quote
Widgey's Avatar Widgey Widgey is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,872
Tried Telewest?

Thing is most companies will require you to have a bt socket in place already (and that is what is going to cost you the £150 to have installed) only one I know that installs sockets themselves are telewest.

Hope that helps

__________________

Reply With Quote
MailOrderCo MailOrderCo is offline
Connector
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 773
BT should know the old telephone number, its a bit silly if they don't.

Failing that put the address of the new office in google, chafes are if it was listed in yellowpages or somewhere like that, the address should bring up the old telephone number.

I do not think there are any shortcut's with a phone provider, I know people use others, but at the end of the day, BT is the landline company in the UK that manages most of the lines and deal with thing's quickly.

I have known people use other providers but they take longer (days longer) to sort problems out as they are usally middlemen companies using something like BT wholesale, and spend time ping ponging between themselves to fix a problem, with BT its sorted straight away.

If you want the best and most problem free service i would use BT, talk with them again you might get a different more helpful sales person who might waive any connection fee, ask them to and you might be surprised.

Tell them your not going to use them unless its free to get set-up, thats what i usually do and it work's, its cheekcy but then money is better in your pocket than theres.
Reply With Quote
Sunee Sunee is offline
Connector
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 921
When a line is disconnected, does 150 still work?

Also, BT should know the number; the flat I moved into had a socket that was disconnected. BT offered a choice of being reconnected with the previous number, or a new number.
Reply With Quote
davidwilding davidwilding is offline
Connector
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 263
Carephone Wearhouse's TalkTalk?

They offer free broadband with the business package too. Plus free landline calls Mon-Fri 9am to 5pm.
__________________
David Wilding
blueTek Services
dw@bluetekservices.com | 01376 388137
www.bluetekservices.com
Web and Corporate Design | IT Systems

My status
Reply With Quote
hellerooo hellerooo is offline
Connector
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 223
Thank you all,

I'm going to have a look at Telewest and Carphone Warehouse now.

Helen
Reply With Quote
Rachael Rachael is offline
Connector
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Wales
Posts: 1,765
Have you thought about using a voip solution?
I'm using vonage at the moment and it's cheap and very reliable!
www.vonage.co.uk
Reply With Quote
peekaboo's Avatar peekaboo peekaboo is offline
Connector
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: South of England
Posts: 891
Hi Helen,

Im surprised they are charging you for a reconnection even though you don't know the number, im sure there is a special number you can type in to find out the previous number, even still..just say i don't want to pay 150 when there is a line there, I think your be surprised after a bit of haggling!!

Brett
__________________
http://www.peekaboodesign.co.uk
email: brett(@)peekaboodesign.co.uk
tel: 01983 565566
Adventures in Creative Design
Reply With Quote
hellerooo hellerooo is offline
Connector
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 223
Hi again,

Thanks for the link about vonage Rachael, I've never seen this before!

I have called BT and told them I think it's unfair that i'm being charged, I said that it's unfair on us small businesses that we are being charged so much when all we are trying to do is start a business. They offered me a £40 per quarter line rental with free caller divert, caller display, call waiting, etc. They have waivered the connection fee! Yay!!!

Thanks everyone, where would we be without this forum?
Reply With Quote
redtiger redtiger is offline
Guru
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Essex
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally posted by marginex
Im surprised they are charging you for a reconnection even though you don't know the number...
It's BT Brett

Alex
__________________
Red Tiger Design!
Full-service branding, design and print agency

Call 01206 384672
Reply With Quote
FrontlineCombat1 FrontlineCombat1 is offline
Newbie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
If memory serves me correctly, it depends if it is a stopped line or a ceased line.

If it is a stopped line then that just means the service has been switched off, leaving all the cabling from the socket to the exchange still intact.

If it is a ceased line then that means that somewhere from the socket up to the exchange something has been physically removed. Sometimes when someone wishes to terminate their BT service, BT will cease a line if they need that part of the exchange for someone else. Downside is when a new tenant moves in they will "normally" be required to pay to have a new line re-installed - sometimes reffered to as an "Apps in Situ" I believe.

As to why BT could not find any previous service at the address, I do not know, as they are able to bring up every single person/business/tel number associated with that address. You must have had a new BT advisor or something that wasn't quite sure what they were doing.
Reply With Quote
Widgey's Avatar Widgey Widgey is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally posted by FrontlineCombat1
As to why BT could not find any previous service at the address, I do not know, as they are able to bring up every single person/business/tel number associated with that address. You must have had a new BT advisor or something that wasn't quite sure what they were doing.
It could be also that a BT line has never been there (might have been telewest) then they will treat it as a new installation also.
__________________

Reply With Quote
FrontlineCombat1 FrontlineCombat1 is offline
Newbie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by Widgey
It could be also that a BT line has never been there (might have been telewest) then they will treat it as a new installation also.
Very true.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Copyright Shell LiveWIRE 2005-2009