This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Entrepreneur
How is this for an idea

I'm a web developer who is working for a company full time (40+ hours a week). I'm being paid quite badly as this is my first job in the industry but my experience is quite good and so is my knowledge.

Anyway. I've thought for a while about ideas and thought about this:

A kind of dating/online community/personal web page service. So you do this:

- Create profile (optional details: height, weight, hair colour, interests, location, job, age, and many more)
- Once this has been done you will be given: www.mydomain.com/yourname and you may/may not use it

The main selling point will be that your membership will be based on location. For example if you are in Liverpool you will be able to view the other 100 users from that area, and can even meet up with some of them too - and view their pictures.

I have the idea that companies and organisations can pay to advertise events in the local sections of the website. Lets say there is a car festival in Cornwall. They can pay a certain amount and have a banner/email or something sent to the users from the Cornwall area.

Something along these lines anyway.

Any thoughts?
Connector
well a quick search of google reveals lots of this type of service... What would make your site different?

G

You can get paid for your friends playing games on your site:

http://www.uvme.biz/74994GA
Click on the link and watch the video.
Connector
their are many like this, i just had someone put one up similar on the advertising page, maybe do a networking site for young entrepreneurs, or summat, I can point you in the right direction

Free basic website development www.pcgstudios.net
Entrepreneur
Quote:
Originally posted by gwhaskew
well a quick search of google reveals lots of this type of service... What would make your site different?

G