This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Entrepreneur
New PC Hardware Retail Business.

Hi all

I thought I would ask your opinions on a computer retail business.

I know its very competitive but to open one in an area where there is not another business like this and also offer extra services from business solutions to pc upgrades and repairs as well digital conversions and possible digital printing.

I also know a lot of people can build machines and sort out the problems but what about those people who don't have time, who are not very technical minded, do you think there would be a demand?

The bread and butter of business would be to sell new systems as well as other hardware.

I have about 4-6 years experience in IT and I am thinking of forming a partnership of 3 people (myself + 2 other) who also have the IT knowledge and one of them had already started something similar but it didn't take off...but I think I know where they faltered.

Thanks in advance for you opinions!!

Techie_Man
Starting Out
Hi techie

Funny, everything you posted is what I am presently trying to set up with one partner.

From what I have seen this is a huge market which is growing rapidly and as long as you do things right then there is most definitely enough business around for what you have described.

I'd be interested to know if you have found a decent supplier of hardware as this has been one of the hardest tasks I have had to date and it's causing me all sorts of budgeting problems.

I have decent IT skills but I also have 8 years in accountancy to help me out where as my partner in the business has over 10 years of top level IT experience and presently works for the BBC so we should provide a good mix of skills.
Starting Out