This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

Starting Out
DVD Rental = Shopfront & Online

Hi all, i'm John a newbie here lookin for some opinions.

I live in a part of St Albans where recently a small parade of shops has been bulit and opened.
There are a Spar, a Gym, Doctors, Indian Take away, chemist and an empty shop to let.

There are many new houses (10 years old) surrounding these new shops and i have been trying to think of an idea to start off in the empty shop, before someone else nicks the lease.

I came up with the idea of a Movie/games rental shop because the nearest and possibly only other one is St Albans is a Blockbusters which is well out of the way; parking is rubbish for it also.

I am totally aware of the current state of the shopfront rental shop scene with the fact that the online rental scene has really taken off in the past 2-3 years.
I was thinking of providing the shop for the local area and at the same time working on getting an online store together and providing both online/offline rentals.
I was also thinking of trying to bring the shop rental prices along the lines of the online sites where you can pay x amount to have unlimited rentals as well as a price for odd rentals here and there.

I was going to design a survey to send out to the local area to try and get some idea of peoples interests in this.

Does anyone think that this could be a good idea or do people believe that the shop scene is completly dead for this market?

Does anyone have any ideas for what that shop could provide?

Any ideas and opinions would be much appreciated

Thanks

John
Guru