This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more hereX

Home > Discussion Forum

Discussion Forum

IT Rental

Hi Everyone,

I'm thinking about setting up a PC & Peripheral Rental business in Oxford, catering mainly for the students. I know zilch about business in general but can anyone give me some pointers as to what I'll need to consider (VAT, registering company, book-keeping etc etc) to startup the business?

I'm very au fait with computers as I work as a software tester, so funding & maintaining the PCs isn't a problem.

The business would be p/t initially and I'd expect a low income to start with but to grow say after 6mths.

Thanks in advance,
James
Maven
If you register online with Shell LiveWIRE at www.shell-livewire.org , you will be able to access a great deal of relevant information within the Be Your Own Boss section, including articles on VAT and Book-keeping.

If you are aged between 16 and 30, you will also be given details of a local Shell-LiveWIRE co-ordinator, who can help you to develop your business idea.

To register, choose 'Your Account' from the navigation options at the bottom of the web pages.
Maven
Attn: James

Hi James

One thing to bear in mind if you are considering setting up your business for definate, is the price of computers etc, from the rental would you be able to recover the amount you have payed out to get the systems in?

I bought my computer from
Euro PC
They seem pretty good and they gave me a free 1 years warranty as well. They deal with end of line stock and refurbished computers, mine was a refurb. when I got it but I haven't had any problems with it - touch wood!!
Bear in mind though that their systems don't come with a monitor

I also have a contact who sells computers at wholesale and discount prices, send me an Email
if you are interested in a price on their systems.

Also, don't forget that new systems go out of date in a matter of months nowadays

Cheers