PDA

View Full Version : Computer Business

brillpc
03-05-2005, 12:54 AM
Hi,

I have decided to start my own computer business repairing and selling pc's within a 40 mile radius of my local area. I have been repairing pc's of friends and family for a few years now and i have the knowledge to do it. Could you please advice of any first steps and also advise me on how to get my first few customers as I am on quite a tight budget. I already have premises that I can use. I would also be grateful of any advice you have for finances as I am only 17. Thanks for your help in advance

Julian

Shellfish
03-05-2005, 01:08 PM
Hello Julian,

This sounds like a fantastic idea as so many people have PCs these days and practically everyone needs help at some stage. It's also great that you have premises as that can be both costly and time-consuming to organise.

In terms of first steps of getting your business up and running and finance, do you have a business plan? It's often a useful place to start as it gives you a chance to look at your potential market and your likely customers and also to work out the finances.

For funding, I'd start by talking to your local Business Link as they might be able to assist, but before then you need an idea of how much you want and what for. I'd suggest you look at what equipment you need that you don't already have (e.g. back up and recovery systems), at normal overheads (headed paper, business cards, maybe a leaflet, though some of these you could probably do for yourself at least at first) and other set up costs (like becoming a limited company or VAT registering if that's what you want to do, though it's maybe not necessary at this stage).