PDA

View Full Version : Equestrian business

Dawn
03-05-2005, 01:20 PM
Hi,

I want to start my own Riding SWchool and Competition yard. I have extensive equestrian experience, so that side of it would be solid, but I have no idea where to start or what to do. I have researched my area, and believe that I could offer something different. I understand that I could either start from scratch (my preferred way) or buy an existing business, but where would a 26 yeard old, with no property or captial get that kind of lending?!

Thanks

Dawn

Shellfish
03-05-2005, 01:32 PM
Hello Dawn,

This sounds like a good idea and having plenty of equestrian experience is an excellent start. 26 is a great age to start a business, but yes, it does mean that finance isn't going to be easy, especially as I imagine start up costs for your type of business could be pretty huge. Having said that, this doesn't mean you can't do it, and certainly I was exactly the same when I started up (big idea, but no money to do it), but I'm getting there.

I think maybe the best place to start is to work out how much you'd need to start up from scratch. Though buying a 'ready made' business gives one a flying start in some cases, I think the costs would be prohibitive, so I'd be inclined to just go it alone. So maybe starting with some costs would help, so you could look at whether you can you rent rather than buy premises, how much you need to spend on advertising, what the legal things you need to know are (e.g. health and safety), how many horses you need and what they'd cost, what equipment you need and again, the associated costs, etc. Once you've got some figures together and maybe got an outline business plan, I'd start with Business Link for some advice and go from there.