PDA

View Full Version : Advise needed on selling through local retail outlets...

Catherine
07-01-2003, 09:08 PM
I have recently set up my business designing and making hand-made greetings cards and wedding stationery.
The next stage I am interested in is selling through local retail outlets, all of which are independent shops.
However, I have no experience whatsoever of the retail trade.

Has anyone any experience of the best way to approach small retailers with a portfolio? To phone first and make an appointment, to write in then follow up with a phone call and hopefully visit, or to call in on spec and ask to speak to the buyer? My objective is to get in the door and show them my work...

Which brings me to my second question... have no idea of terms, what kind of discount they would require, whether they'd be likely to buy from me then sell, or take goods on a sale or return basis. All seems a minefield!

Any help from those that have been there or who can point me in the direction of good publications on this, greatly appreciated!

Thanks

elena
07-01-2003, 10:12 PM
Hi,

I thought about you today i went to the dry cleaners and there where some cards for sale.

It said something along the lines of " original birthday cards by a local designer and the price "

If you visit small independant companies i would suggest you take a few samples and then just explain to the owner about your company.

Good luck
Elena
www.oohlalaa.com

Leslie
07-01-2003, 10:38 PM
congrats on being so inventive!

I work in a locally owned boutique and we are always interested in selling handmade goods from local vendors. people either stop in with samples during business hours or call to make sure the owner will be there. either way is fine with us. we sometimes ask them to leave a sample so we can discuss whether it is right for the store's image and/or price points.