PDA

View Full Version : selling on the phone

ed209
27-05-2003, 11:14 AM
All the web sites I look at, that deal with business advice, say that cold calling (I read this as telephone calls) is an efffective way of getting new clients. I NEED new clients so I've been calling up 10 or so businesses a day from the yellow pages. I've had some interest during the phone conversations so I post them a letter about my business. As yet I've heard nothing back.

I think what I need is a more confident/proffesional phone manner. I do have something written down but I was wondering, is there a rough script to follow? Some examples of what people say on the phone somewhere?

I am a graphic designer and I started trading in march - it's now may and I have no business. Help! I think my weakness is sales but I don't know how to fix it.

Thanks
Ed
www.edleadesign.co.uk

Sarah Jones
28-05-2003, 07:23 AM
The secret to cold calling is volume - the more calls you make the more chance you stand of getting an appointment and turning that into a sale. You need to look at increasing your sales calls at least 4 or 5 fold to start to see some results. You are right to follow up interest with a letter but then you also need to follow the letter/brochure up with another sales call to see if you can get an appointment - they will not call you back as they will be contacted many times a day from similar companies.

I do not know of anywhere that produces scripts for telephone calls but there are many Sales books in the shops that will give you some hints on this. Personally I think someone reading from a script is too impersonal. As it is your business, your enthusiasm should shine through and this will get people interested. In this competitive market place, make time to ensure you have thought through why you are different to other companies and why they should use you.