PDA

View Full Version : PHP Help!

rbren90
12-12-2007, 07:56 PM
Hi,

I am currently making a system but I am slightly stuck - im a bit of a rookie at php developmet. Any help would be great!

Basically I am using PHP to pull information from a database based on url info - i.e GET function. So i want to pull information from the DB where group = 1 - easy enuff so far, with the URL saying group.php?group=1

but now i want it to pull from the DB where group = 1 AND 3, but i cant seem to get this to work, iv tried group.php?group=1,2 group.php?group=1&2 but none of this is working..

any help is greatly appreciated!
thanks
Ryan

richardh
12-12-2007, 08:03 PM
Hi Ryan.

My advice to you would be to read up on some beginner PHP tutorials or purchase a book on it. If you're running into problems at this stage, then things are only going to get worse (for you and your clients).

That said:-

script.php?groups[]=1&groups[]=2

<?php
$groups = $_GET['groups'];
var_dump($groups);
?>

Make sure you're using something like mysql_real_escape_string() on the user input.

bluecube
12-12-2007, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by richardh

Make sure you're using something like mysql_real_escape_string() on the user input.

Spoil sport... :)

RichardJohn
12-12-2007, 08:06 PM
Is this being used on a production site?
I wouldn't advise it... if you're running into problems with GET variables, there's likely to be exploits in the script.

richardh
12-12-2007, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by bluecm
Spoil sport... :)

Haha :P

rbren90
12-12-2007, 08:12 PM
Thanks a lot, thats perfect..

and yeh im using mysql_escape_string

i probably should have taken off the zinkdesign sig, im only really designing for clients not coding at the minute.. im only 17 and still learnin btw:

If you're running into problems at this stage, then things are only going to get worse (for you and your clients).

!!

thanks for the advice

ryan

richardh
12-12-2007, 08:13 PM
Another option Ryan:-

script.php?groups=1,2,3