PDA

View Full Version : Stock Market

Pavanjot
03-08-2002, 12:18 AM
Anyone out there into the stock market? I'm looking to go into spread betting, anyone got any advice?

austin
03-08-2002, 07:25 PM
I have some experience of the stock market but I don't do spread betting.
Have you heard of:
www.trade2win.co.uk
www.virtualbizz.com/ififorums/

very good sites I have learnt from

best wishes

Austin

Pavanjot
03-08-2002, 11:08 PM
Cheers Austin, I found both sites interesting. You mentioned that you're into Stocks & Shares, may I ask what strategy you go for? e.g. growth, income etc?
I personally go for income - i'm shifting (or trying to) switch all my portfolio into companies which pay high dividends, e.g. Scottish Power, BP, and a few smaller companies.

Good Luck!

PS, may I ask how much you invest in a company? e.g. 1,000, 2,000 etc. I currently invest about 1,000 per company.

austin
05-08-2002, 02:04 PM
My strategy is a mixture of value and growth. I'm into long term stuff at the moment that is selling below it's worth, and also is likely to exhibit growth. I will email my criteria if you like.

As to how much to invest, it's best to own a small number of stocks- especially if you are investing a small amount of money. Otherwise your gains will be lost in brokers fees.

eg if you had 5000 and invested it in 10 companies, and fortunately they all grew 10%. If a transaction costs 10
Buying and selling each stock would cost you 200 and your gain would be 5500 - 200 =5300
If you invested 5000 in two companies that grew 10% you would make
5500 - 40 =5460
So don't split your capital into to many companies.

If you don't need a stream of income (ie you have a job or something) then I think you will make more money if you go for a "long term growth".

I forgot to mention www.motleyfool.co.uk (loads of discussion boards and info)
I like "The Zulu Principle" by Jim Slater (UK book) or one of the motley fool guides they are simple and worth a read.

best wishes
Austin