PDA

View Full Version : Client Problems

chrisgrant0
20-09-2006, 06:15 PM
Hi,

I am a 17 year old student and run a small web design business for local companies. Recently i recieved an email asking if i would create a website for a local performing arts group. We finally decided on the price two days ago, and I started work on it immediately, after sending him several quotes, and recieving a purchase order. Ive spent a good 10 hours on it over the last two days, and then tonight, i recieved an email from the client saying that the committee at the group "feels at the present time we cannot afford to get a website."

This has never happened to me before, and i really dont have a clue what to do. If anyone can offer any help or advice i would appreciate a lot.

Best Regards
Chris Grant

davidwilding
20-09-2006, 06:17 PM
Hi,
I always make sure that I take a deposit from the customer before starting work. I make clear that this is non-returnable and if they go ahead with the work then i deduct this from the final total.

I include this with a contract and get them to sign and agree.

Customers are usually happy with this!

Dave.

Widgey
20-09-2006, 06:18 PM
Not much you can do unless you had a contract!

They can pull out at anytime if you have no restrictions in place. Use it as experience and maybe introduce something they have to sign before work starts.

I do think you maybe rushed into the job a little quickly!

All the best though

Paul

Sunee
20-09-2006, 06:26 PM
Chris received a purchase order though.

Find out who the chair of the committee is, and write to them.
It sounds like whoever sent the purchase order did not obtain committee approval, however, that is not your problem to deal with, it is something for them to sort out.

Include a photocopy of the purchase order, and say that you will issue a small claims proceeding if they do not come to some payment agreement.

20-09-2006, 06:29 PM
Hi Chris