PDA

View Full Version : Can 2 0845 numbers be used on one line?


Princess1983
24-07-2006, 01:58 PM
Hello,

I've currently got an 0845 number for by business, but I was wondering if its possible to have another one on the same line? Reason is another business idea, and I'm not sure how it will look to give out the same number for 2 businesses?

Princess

EVNS Design
24-07-2006, 02:03 PM
Hello Princess (why do I feel like a dirty old man when I type that?!)

I do not know what setup you have with your 0845, 0800, 0870 numbers but I use a system called DMClub. This allows me to register numbers then divert that number to any other number.

I can have 2 08 numbers diverted to the same number if I wish, but I would check with your provider.

Matthew

Rachael
24-07-2006, 02:16 PM
Yes you can have as many non geo numbers pointed to your line - but how will you know what the person wants as it'll be ring through to one line?

maybe you should use a switchboard service

lukehome
24-07-2006, 02:24 PM
Yes you can i'm sat at my desk counting the numbers,
we have 11 0800 numbers, and 3 0845 numbers all into one number

openmind
24-07-2006, 02:26 PM
As above....

I use www.callnavigator.co.uk to handle the calls. Not only does it allow me to know where the call is coming from, Hosting, Domains etc but it also allows me to divert calls to the different depts. to different numbers...

Speak to a chap called Mike Grieff and tell him I sent you. He might even give you a discount ;)

lukehome
24-07-2006, 02:26 PM
all are numbers come in and the computer puts up a box saying which line is calling.

Princess1983
24-07-2006, 04:41 PM
Originally posted by Rachael
Yes you can have as many non geo numbers pointed to your line - but how will you know what the person wants as it'll be ring through to one line?

maybe you should use a switchboard service

I thought of answering by saying "goodmorning/afternoon, blab blah blah speaking" and allowing the customer to say what they want etc.

Will look into switchboard services.

Princess

TamarTelecommunications
25-07-2006, 07:09 AM
If your landline is with BT you could signup for BT Call Sign. It will give you a second landline number that when called makes your phone ring differently so that you can tell which company they are calling for.