PDA

View Full Version : Paying Myself (Sole Trader)

crispIT
02-07-2006, 01:32 PM
Hello all,

I've just spent an hour or two googling and searching the forum but am struggling to find an answer or make sense of how I'd pay myself as a Sole Trader.

I'm a student and work various part-time / temporary jobs during the holidays, etc. I'm also registered as self-employed as I provide website design and hosting plus IT services to small companies.

I understand that the profit from self employment is added to all my other employee income and anything above my personal allowance is taxed - does this therefore mean the profit is mine and I can simply take it from the business account?

And can I pay myself part way through my financial year (although I don't know what my final profit will be at the end)?

Or should I be paying myself via PAYE?

If it makes any difference I'd be paying myself on an irregular basis both in amount and frequency depending on the value and nature of the work I'm doing.

I'm also registered for small earnings exception on NI as my total profit from self employment is expected to stay under the threshold.

And what happens on profits that I want to keep in the business, as it seems I'd get taxed on those too...correct?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Chris.

Princess1983
02-07-2006, 01:48 PM
Can't help you I'm afraid as I'm literally trying to figure it all our myself. However, I can make a suggestion. Our local tax office has a tax officer that will explain everything you need to know in detail and its a free service! Maybe your best bet maybe to contact your tax office and ask them if they have time to explain business matters/pay issues with you? Plus you have a few questions they will be able to help answer in more detail.

Just a thought.

Princess

MK Printing
02-07-2006, 02:01 PM
I used to work fulltime and also have a small imcome from a promotions business.